Coastal Class

Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 8.50.55 AM

Annie Abbey is a senior at the Academy of Art University in San Francisco and one of my best friends in the world. As a fashion design student, she has a keen eye when it comes to fashion and has developed a personal style that is effortlessly chic and always cool. I’m very grateful she took some time to let me interview her on her future plans, music, and of course, FASHION!

How would you define your personal style?

I sometimes joke that I categorize myself as a grungy twelve year old from the 90’s….Really I guess that means a lot of floral dresses, overalls, denim on denim and crop tops. I just like to wear what I feel comfortable in and what I think still says a little about me before I talk.

Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 8.49.54 AM Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 8.51.36 AM

As a clothing designer, where do you find inspiration?

I find inspiration in some weird places….I did one collection inspired by how I think stacks of ice cream scoops look like vertebrae. Really I gather inspiration from anything that I find visually stimulating or that makes me curious.

If you could design an outfit for anyone in the world who would it be and what would it look like?

It would probably be for Alexa Chung, she is my fashion idol! I would put her in something boyish obviously but try something with a little more tailoring to it, maybe a great tuxedo short set.

Can you tell us a little about your plans after graduation?

I actually just signed my offer letter to work at Abercrombie in Ohio! Very excited about that!

How does the fashion in Ohio compare to that of California?

It is very cold there…like year round, even worse than SF. I think the main difference is that they wear a lot of outdoor activewear on a daily basis and it is more camping-chic than California clothing which tends to lean towards beachy vibes.

What is your favorite season?

For designing, fall. For actually wearing the clothes, summer.

Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 8.51.24 AM

What is one thing you can’t leave home without?

LIPSTICK in at least two shades in case my mood changes.

Who is your favorite clothing designer or brand?

I love 3.1 Phillip Lim. He has such great cuts and odd fabric compositions.

Do you like to have music playing while you work or work in silence?

I am a music freak! I always listen to a playlist while I work (I am doing it right now!). I pretty much just stick to the same band on repeat for months at a time, boring as that sounds. Since June it has been Cold War Kids, before that it was Cage the Elephant.

What is your ultimate dream job?

I would love to open my own line someday. (What designer wouldn’t!?) I want it to be a more eco-conscious line with a focus on handloomed fabrics and organic dyes and materials.

Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 8.51.44 AM

Leave a Reply

